You are here

Blackboard Quick Reference Guide for Students

This guide provides basic instructions for using the most popular features of Blackboard.

Overview

Blackboard is widely-used at Temple University to deliver course content online and on mobile devices. Faculty can upload course materials for their students on Blackboard and conduct a variety of classroom activities. Students can retrieve and submit assignments; participate in discussion groups, blogs, and wikis; take tests and check grades. In addition, administrative work groups and student organizations can take advantage of Blackboard features to organize and share meeting materials.

Note that instructors have the option of including various features, such as blogs and wikis, in their Blackboard courses. If you do not see a particular feature, confirm that your instructor added it to the course.

Access

Obtaining an AccessNet account

To access Blackboard, you will need an AccessNet account. If you have any questions about your account, contact the Help Desk through the Computer Services  home page.

Logging in to Blackboard

To login directly, go to learn.temple.edu. You will see the TUgateway login screen where you can use your AccessNet username and password to login. 
-or-
Log in to TUportal and, in the MY PORTAL tab, go to TUAPPLICATIONS and click Blackboard.

Accessing your course

Go to the My Courses module and select the course that you want to access. Note: If you do not see your course listed, check with your professor to see if they have made the course available to students.

Blackboard Mobile App

To access Blackboard from devices or phones, download the Bb Student app. See the Blackboard Bb Student App page  Quick Start section for instructions on downloading, installing, and using Bb Student can be found. (Note that Computer Services no longer recommends using the Blackboard Mobile Learn app.)

Logging Out

To log out of the Bb Student app, click the menu bar icon at the left top and then click the gear icon on the top right. Then, in the Settings screen, click the half circle with an arrow icon at the top right and then click Log Out at the prompt.