You are here

Tech Bits: Are You Putting Your Personal Information at Risk?

Date

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

When you've finished using a computer in a conference/class room or shared space, just closing the browser is not enough.

For security reasons, it is important to actually log off when you're done so others can't open the browser and get into your accounts.

This is critical when you use a computer to access email, work-related systems, social media or other private accounts.

To avoid putting your information at risk, follow these three steps when you're finished:

  1. Log off or sign out of any websites you’ve logged into.
  2. Close the browser.
    AND
  3. Log off the computer:
    - In Windows 10, right-click the Start (Windows start icon) button, select Shut down or sign out and then Sign out.
    - On a Mac, click the Apple (Apple menu icon) menu and select Log Out.